Monday, 21 November 2011

(pillow)Case of the Week (45/11) - 36

(This is an instalment in a series of blogposts about the ISAF Casebook 2009-2012 with amendments for 2010. All cases are official interpretations by the ISAF committees on how the Racing Rules of Sailing should be used or interpreted. The cases are copied from the Casebook, only the comments are written by me.)
(pillow)Case picture
CASE 36
Rule 49.2, Crew Position
Positioning of crew members relative to lifelines.
Summary of the Facts
A boat in an offshore class, while close-hauled, had a crew member positioned, for several minutes on two occasions, next to the shrouds with his feet on the deck and his legs inside but touching the lifelines. While his torso was substantially upright, part of it was outboard of an imaginary line projected vertically from the top of the lifelines. The boat was disqualified under rule 49.2 and appealed.
Case 36 pict
Decision
The appeal is dismissed. To clarify the rule, the drawing shows possible crew positions.
Position 6 is the position of the appellant’s crew member.
Positions 1, 2 and 3 do not break the rule; positions 5 and 6 break it.
On boats equipped with one lifeline, position 4 breaks the rule.
On boats equipped with two wire lifelines, a crew member sitting on deck facing outboard with his waist inside the lower lifeline and the upper part of his body outside the upper lifeline, as shown in position 4, does not break the rule.

USSA 1976/194

blogcolorstripe  
Rule 49.2 is purely a safety issue. We don't want that crew members are compelled to take too much risk in projecting there weight outside to get a little more speed. There is a limit and this is it. Shouldn't be to hard to follow......
 
But if there are no lifelines - only rule 49.1 restricts the crew position....

7 comments:

  1. Well thats stupid - the situation in 6 occurs on regular basis on any offshore boat - checking halyards for twists and so on. Inshore too for that matter.
    And the helmsman will be screaming for the guy to ****ing well sit down!
    Presumably the committee members involved have not done a lot of sailing. Or any.

    ReplyDelete
  2. @ Hugh
    I quote from the rule (49.2)
    " .... except briefly to perform a necessary task."
    Checking halyards is permitted.

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have seen position 6 used quite a lot in the Caribbean. I did protest one competitor because of it. He was actually further outboard while holding the clew of the genoa. .I hailed numerous times and we took photographs for the protest. He spent 20 minutes doing that. We won the protest

    ReplyDelete
  4. I recall standing up on the side deck of a tiller-steered J80 (as helmsman) to look out for patches of weeds which were in abundance on the race course. This posture drew the vehement ire of one competitor. Not sure it's possible to exceed position 2 while standing at the helm. Would this count as a necessary task once or repeatedly?

    Jahn T

    ReplyDelete
  5. You made some good points there. I did a search on the topic and found most people will agree with your blog.

    ReplyDelete
  6. @Anonymous (3)
    Good on you.
    @Jahn T
    You would have to convince the PC if it came to the room that this was the only way you could steer clear of the seaweed....
    @Yacht Crew
    Thanks.

    ReplyDelete
  7. I do not see how (when racing for example club races with different classes of boats) there is an exemption for trapezes when they belong on your boat.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...