After yesterdays learning experience we did discuss the issue some more. There were complications in format, boat and crew issues, interference and of course, hearings on the water. But on the instigation of my fellow umpires I’d better stick to the rules.
Sitting on the terrace of “ElMovenshiss” with two different music sources is a bit distracting, but if I concentrate hard enough I might be able to post a valid question.
Again about penalties. The rule book says you can only give a penalty – or a green flag for that matter – if there’s also a sound signal.
And also; The failure to display or not display a flag has no influence on the number of outstanding penalties. If you miss a boat taken a penalty, the fact that you did not take down the flag has no standing. The boat has a valid case if she can somehow show that she took the penalty. She might need to go to a hearing and ‘convince’ the judges, but if she does, the penalty is taken.
I do agree it’s confusing to the sailors if you first take a flag down and then, after deciding that it should be a red flag penalty, put the flag back up again (including the offset blue flag), but that does not mean it is a second penalty, in my opinion. Not if there’s no sound signal together with the flag.
In other words, if you forget your whistle, you’d better know how to do it some other way, otherwise you cannot give any penalties.
Putting up a flag alone is NOT sufficient.
What do you think?