Showing posts with label RRS 2010 changes. Show all posts
Showing posts with label RRS 2010 changes. Show all posts

Friday, 23 April 2010

Poll for Redress in Medal Race

One of my posts, Addendum Q changed in 2010 was published in Scuttlebutt. Since then several people have responded in the Scuttlebutt forum. In light of this I'm starting a poll.

You can vote on a simple question:
Should the Medal Race at the World Cup Events have the possibility for a Request for Redress - as written in the RRS - or not?
I'm leaving the poll up for a longer period. Say until we have a 1000 votes. That should give a clear picture.
As a judge I'm fairly neutral myself - although I'm leaning towards "Yes".

Please give me your answer in the poll at the top of the sidebar.

Friday, 5 March 2010

LTW Readers Q&A | 038; Virtual Boats at the Windward Mark

A Q&A from Thorsten from Germany about virtual boats. Or are they? Read for yourselves and tell me what you think.

blogcolorstripe
Hi Jos,

While playing virtual skipper (an online regatta simulator), the following situation at the windward mark arose in a fleet race.

Since I had similar situations with a H-Boat from time to time on our lake at home, I think the situation would be possible in real life
.
I wondered, what rules apply here, given the fact that both boats are head to wind simultaneously in position 3 and both overturn about 5 or 10 degrees.

TB QA 038 windward mark- htw Animation by Thorsten. Here’s the file: TB QA 038 windward mark – htw.gif

In position 1 and 2 rules 11 and 18.2(a) apply, ok. But what rules apply in position 3, 4 and 5?
Both boats are under rule 13 in position 3 and 4, yellow being obligated to keep clear. Rule 18.3 does not seem to apply, since the boats are not on opposite tacks and there is no boat under rule 13 while the other one can fetch the mark.

Since no other rule switches off rule 18.2, to me it seems that rule 18.2(a) is still on. After overturning 5 to 10 degrees, both boats are now on port tack, though not on a close-hauled course. Yellow would be entitled to mark-room including room to tack.

In position 5, blue ignores yellow, turns to round the mark and pushes yellow onto the mark. Without blues manoeuvre and the contact, yellow would have been able to round the mark. Slowly, but still. So it seems to me that blue breaks rules 16.1 and 18.2(a).

I searched the RRS, the case book and the Q&A Service for similar cases, but that was to no avail. I'm wondering if my conclusion is correct, especially the interpretation of rule 18.2(a) and 18.3.
Maybe you can help me out?

Thanks in advance and best regards from Germany,
Thorsten.

blogcolorstripe

Friday, 26 February 2010

RR Team Racing Call 2010-002

Just when you think you got your head wrapped around the 2010 RRS changes,  the RR-panel throws you out of whack. These situations might happen most often in team racing, but it is also true in Fleet Racing. Not so much in Match racing - but that is because seldom are there more then two boats - I think.... <G>

A new RRTR Call on the ISAF site today, about when an obstruction suddenly ceases to be an obstruction.
Or when a 'right-of-way'-boat that is an obstruction, becomes a 'keep-clear'-boat that isn't (by definition).


RAPID RESPONSE TEAM RACING CALL 2010/002
Rule 11 On the Same Tack, Overlapped
Rule 12 On the Same Tack, Not Overlapped
Rule 19 Room to Pass an Obstruction


Question 1
A and X are sailing on a broad-reach leg and are approaching Y, who is moving slowly. A’s bow is about half of a boat-length behind X’s bow and X is steering a course to pass to leeward of Y. At position 1, A hails for room to pass to leeward of Y. At position 2, X is overlapped to leeward of Y and there is no longer room for A to pass between them. A luffs to keep clear of Y and protests. What should the call be?

Answer 1
No penalty. When, after position 1, boats A and X are at the obstruction Y, rule 19 requires the outside boat X to give the inside boat A room between X and Y. However, at position 2, X is no longer required to keep clear of Y and, as a result, Y is no longer an obstruction. Because Y is not an obstruction, rule 19 no longer applies between A and X, and X is therefore no longer required to give A room to pass to leeward of Y. A keeps clear of X and Y as required by rules 11 and 12, respectively.

Question 2
Similar to question 1, except that A’s bow is about half of a boat-length ahead of X’s bow and X is steering a course directly toward Y’s transom. At position 2, A becomes overlapped to windward of Y. Shortly thereafter, X bears away and passes to leeward of Y. A protests. What should the call be?


Answer 2
No penalty. Rule 19 begins to apply between positions 1 and 2 when A and X are at the obstruction Y. Rule 19.1(a) gives X the right to choose which side to pass the obstruction. At the time rule 19 begins to apply, neither A nor X is outside or inside with respect to Y, and therefore rule 19.2(b) is not applicable.
At position 2, A becomes overlapped to windward of Y. A is now the outside boat, and must give X room between her and the obstruction under rule 19.2(b) if X chooses to do so. However, X chooses to go below Y. When X becomes overlapped to leeward of Y, X becomes an obstruction to A and Y and, accordingly, A must give Y room between her and X. A gives Y room as required by rule 19.2(b) and keeps clear of her as required by rule 11.

Question 3:
Similar to question 2, except that A and X are steering a course to pass to leeward of Y. At position 2, A becomes overlapped to leeward of Y. Y luffs to keep clear and protests. What should the call be?


Answer 3
No penalty. A and X are sailing a proper course and therefore do not break rule 17. At position 1, A keeps clear of X as required by rule 11. At position 2, A becomes overlapped to leeward of Y. X is now an obstruction to A and Y. As the outside boat, Y must give A room between her and X, provided that she is able to do so from the time the overlap began. Y must also keep clear of A under rule 11. Y gives room and keeps clear by luffing.

Published February 25, 2010             This call is valid until 1 January 2011


In case you are wondering why X already becomes an obstruction to Y in position 2 - remember the definition of overlap. Ooh, and in all animations the coloured boats are my additions. I used TSS this time. Although the animations have improved on the screen, it doesn't translate in the gifs as of yet.


For those of you who want to download the pdf: RRTR Call 2010-002

.

Saturday, 6 February 2010

New Rapid Response Calls for Match & Team Racing

New and in effect from Tuesday 4/2/10 two new Rapid Response Calls:
RR Match Racing Call 2010/001 about “When is a boat at a mark?” and
RR Team Racing Call 2010/AA about “Passing head to wind inside the zone”
RRMRCALL 2010/001
RAPID RESPONSE MATCH RACING CALL 2010/001
Definitions Mark-Room
Question 1
When is a boat entitled to mark-room sailing ‘to the mark’?
Answer 1
A boat entitled to mark-room is sailing ‘to the mark’ when she is sailing a course towards the mark, that will leave the mark on the required side, until she reaches a position where she becomes ‘at the mark’.
Question 2
When does a boat sailing ‘to the mark’ become ‘at the mark’?
Answer 2
A boat that is sailing ‘to the mark’ will be ‘at the mark’ when one or more of the following conditions apply:
  • (a) She is no longer able to alter course, in a seamanlike way, towards the mark and pass it on the wrong side.
  • (b) Any part of her hull overlaps the mark and she is closer than half of her hull length to the mark.
  • (c) She reaches a position where she would usually alter course to round or pass the mark on the required side in order to start sailing the next leg of the course.
Published 3 February 2010        This call is valid until 1 January 2011

RRTRCALL 2010/AA
RAPID RESPONSE TEAM RACING CALL 2010/001
Rule 18.1(a) When Rule 18 Applies
Rule 18.2 Giving Mark-Room
RRTRCall2010-AA
Question:
A reaches the zone of a windward mark to be left to starboard clear ahead of X. Both boats are on starboard tack. A luffs slowly and nearly stops next to the mark. X luffs and passes head to wind, and then passes head to wind again back onto starboard tack. When X passes head to wind the second time, she is overlapped to windward of A. Is A now required to give X mark-room?
Answer:
No. X is required to give A mark-room. At position 1, A enters the zone clear ahead of X. Therefore rule 18 applies and X is required to give A mark-room under rule 18.2(b). When X passes head to wind onto port tack at position 2, rule 18 no longer applies because the boats are then on opposite tacks on a beat to windward; see rule 18.1(a). When X passes head to wind again at position 3, the boats are once again on the same tack, and rule 18 therefore applies.
Because A was clear ahead when she reached the zone at position 1, rule 18.2(b) requires the other boat thereafter to give her mark-room. This obligation remains in force provided that:
  1. rule 18 applies, and
  2. rule 18.2(b) is not turned off by any of the conditions in 18.2(c).
Thus, when the boats are again both on starboard tack and rule 18 reapplies, rule 18.2(b) still requires X to give mark-room to A.
Published February 4, 2010 This call is valid until 1 January 2011

blogcolorstripe

Team racers of the team in boat A beware!
You’ll need to stay in that position – i.e. head to wind, until X has either tacked away or has passed astern and has established a leeward overlap BEFORE the mark room you are entitled to, includes room to tack!
If you pass head to wind before that has happened, one of the conditions in rule 18.2(c) is met and rule 18.2(b) is switched off. Making you the keep clear boat under RRS 13 WITHOUT mark-room!

Thursday, 14 January 2010

Casebook 2009-2012 with 2010 changes

A new casebook on the ISAF website with the changes from the supplement RRS 2010. You can go to the ISAF download page to save your copy.

I did a search on 18.2(c) and did read a couple of pages, but haven't had time to go through all cases to find the changes. If you do, don't hesitate to tell us in a comment.

To summarize: rule changes have been made in rule 18.2(c) and two definitions: Obstruction & Party.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...