Sunday, 19 June 2011

SWC Kiel 2011; Day 2

Ten flights today. Another nine and we will have completed the second round robin. For results, please go to the Kieler Woche results website. USA is doing extremely well in the Match Racing with the two T’s in first and second place.

When is a boat no longer ‘at the mark’? In case the boat does not gybe or tack directly after – a boat is no longer ‘at the mark’ as soon as her stern has left the mark behind, will be the answer most of you will or are going to give.

And when no longer ‘at the mark’ a boat still might have mark-room – that continues until both boats have left the zone – but it does not ‘exonerate’ a boat for breaking a right of way rule any longer. Simply because he’s no longer rounding the mark. The boat is no longer ‘at the mark’ where RRS 18.5 can protect its manoeuvres.
But a boat is still at the mark when she, for instance, tacks around it. Her stern will first have passed the mark, but then after the tack, maybe again not.

I’m having trouble with the grey area in between. I’m usually stating what I think at the moment I feel the boat is no longer ‘at the mark’, only to discovered sometimes I spoke to soon.

In the pre-start you see the trailing boat chasing very very close behind the leading boat – if possible to force a tack once she gets her nose overlapped

If that happens, while rounding the leeward mark, which rule do you think Yellow breaks?



  1. In the diagram as shown I do not think Yellow breaks a rule.

  2. At position 4, yellow has just become overlapped to leeward because of her own action. She was luffing. The overlap is so close that blue is not keeping clear. Blue has not been given room to keep clear. Yellow breaks rule 15.


  3. Wag
    Yellow is allowed to come in close and then bear away to give room. Which she does.
    This does not brak 15.

  4. Because of the angle between the boats, I can see why rule 15 might not be broken, but it is very close.
    Yellow establishes an overlap from clear astern to leeward and is therefore subject to rule 17; She sails higher then close hauled, breaking that rule.

  5. I dont think yellow sails above close hauled until blue has tacked, so they are not overlapped then.

    At position 4, I think Yellow cannot luff without immediately making contact, therefore blue does not keep clear and she was not given room to do so by yellow.


  6. WHen Yellow goes above close hauled at 5, Blue has already tacked over; so 17 doesn't apply.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...