Tuesday, 17 February 2015
Theorielezingen bij TEAM HEINER
Saturday, 14 July 2012
Sneekweek 2012; Invitation to sailors II
The Organizing Authority has organized a couple of packages for International Sailors to make it easier (and cheaper) to come; From the leaflets:
Invitation
Some time ago the Royal Yacht Club Sneek sent you an invitation to join us for Sneekweek. We
understand that it may not be easy for you to arrange accommodation and the like, and that is
why we have done it for you. Below please find information on the gold and silver packages put
together especially for Sneekweek.
Special offer!
The Royal Yacht Club Sneek cordially invites you to take part in Sneekweek. To make participation
even more attractive, you are given the choice between two special offers: the Gold and Silver
packages.
The Royal Yacht Club Sneek (KWS) has organized this special event for the past 77 years. It takes
place in the north of the Netherlands, in the province of Friesland. This year, the event will be
held from 4 through 9 August. The Sneekweek is Europe’s largest inshore sailing regatta. The most
important thing for many people, however, is the fun and hugely enjoyable atmosphere for which we
are famous!
Sailors compete in 40 different classes. Vaurien, Yngling, Optimist, Finn, 2.4mR, Laser and Splash among others offer loyal fleets that keep coming back for more. Sneekweek easily compares to Travemünder Woche or Kiel Week, except it is much more personal.
More information:
Invitation Sneekweek 2012 & Leaflet Sneekweek 2012
Friday, 16 March 2012
YOU-TACK version 1.3
You-Tack is THE Racing sailors illustrated guide to the Racing Rules of Sailing. All the important parts of the rule book have been included. Part 1 trough 7 and Appendixes A, B, C and D.
You can lookup and scan all the pertinent rules when you want to study or if you are involved in a rules discussion. No need to bring a rulebook, they are on your phone! No more - out of date - paper books.
Writing a protest? Look up the rule number and impress the PC. You can even take it with you in the hearing and check out what your opponent is saying.
Lots of new features and new content. I’ve personally completely checked and rewritten the comments. There are also new illustrations, now viewable in landscape mode.
New search tool so you can find quickly what you need. And added a list of sailing terms with explanations.
We are working on new content for Match & Team Racing and are making sure that the changes for 2013-2016 are ready on January first.
Check it out in the AppStore or Android Market
If you want to try it out before buying; there is a Lite version available: You Tack! Lite. Completely free, so you can have a look, before buying.
Thursday, 23 September 2010
Umpire dilemma
Many events are using a system with coloured windward marks. So the RO can quickly change the direction of the beat. In shifty conditions that might even be often.
With the preparatory signal a corresponding coloured flag is hoisted to indicate which windward mark has to be rounded. But, things being as they are, sometimes the sailors forget which mark to round – because it’s late in the day, because the beat was slow and long, because they were late entering and concentrating on that, instead on which colour was shown… take your pick. Once in a while boats sail to the wrong mark.
As an umpire I also sometimes forget – that’s why I added a couple of coloured clothespins to my kit. At the same time as the flag is hoisted at the entry, I stick one on a visible place (for us – not for the sailors) so I have a reference.
Anyway, sailors going to the wrong mark. As discussed in earlier posts just recently – that mark can be touched, it has no zone, it has no side to which it has to be rounded – it’s not a mark under the rules, at best it’s an obstruction.
But the boats behave as if it is a regular mark, with all the rights and obligations. Rule 18, rule 31.1, everything.
I’ll make my first question a simple one: The Blue boat, clear ahead, touches that wrong mark. The Yellow boat, not far behind, sees this and you see it also. Furthermore the crew of the Yellow boat see you at a place that it’s impossible not to see the touch by Blue.
Yellow shows her Yankee flag, you answer with a green/white flag (In Match Racing a boat cannot protest for rule 31.1).
And then?
What do you do?
If you do nothing you are telling the boats that they can touch (what they think is) a mark. From that they can deduce that this windward mark might be the wrong one….. Is that outside help?
Okay, you say, give them a penalty……
But, what rule have they infringed? On what do you base this penalty?
It’s even more complicated if the boats think that rule 18 is in play. You are umpiring solely under the right of way rules (perhaps, if needed, rule 19), but the boats behave as if there’s a zone, mark-room and everything.
Any call by the sailors MUST be umpired according to the rules – and that is usually as if that mark was not there.
Up until now I’ve solved this dilemma by sticking rigorously to the rules – what else can I do – but I’m not particularly happy with it…….
I’m posting this prepared blogpost from my B&B in Trapani, after a long day travelling. I’m here to umpire an extreme sailing series event.
Monday, 28 June 2010
(pillow)Case of the Week (26) – 89;
(This is an instalment in a series of blogposts about the ISAF Call book 2009-2012 with amendments for 2010. All calls are official interpretations by the ISAF committees on how the Racing Rules of Sailing should be used or interpreted. The calls are copied from the Call book, only the comments are written by me.)
Case 89
Rule 43.1(a), Competitor Clothing and EquipmentA competitor may not wear or otherwise attach to his person a beverage container.Question
Does rule 43.1(a) permit a competitor to wear or otherwise attach to his person a beverage container while racing
Answer
No. Except on a sailboard, there is no necessity for such a practice, and therefore its primary purpose must be considered to be to increase the competitor’s weight. (Note that rule B2.1(b) modifies rule 43.1(a) for windsurfing competition.
ISAF 1997/1
I could easily imagine that there are several dinghy’s – specially with a one person crew – who’d love to have this rule eased for them. I must be difficult to stow something, in say, a laser…
Tillerman, how do you do that in yours?
J.
Friday, 5 March 2010
ISAF Q&A 2010 - 010 | SAILORS, this one is for you!
Even if you successfully request redress in which you can prove that your boat was not OCS, the wording in the sailing instructions can make a BIG difference. That is because getting a result does not depend solely on the fact that you must convince the PC that the Race Committee made a mistake, it also depends on what you did (or did not do).
Most sailors seeing there number posted at the windward mark will leave the race. That is normal practice. That is what is expected, they claim:"If I don't do it I will get a DNE!"
It all depends on the wording in the sailing instructions. Posting numbers is not something that is written in the rulebook. There is a guideline how to do it in Instruction 14.6 of Appendix LE (Expanded Sailing Instruction Guide available at the ISAF website) and normally restricted to a boat that failed to start or has broken rule 30.3, where a clause requiring such boats to retire immediately is included in the sailing instructions.
But if that clause is written badly and does not place an obligation on boats to leave you MUST not leave the course and should finish the race. If you don't finish the race, redress cannot be granted because it is partly you own fault that you did not.
Here's the link to the Q&A: ISAF Q&A 2010-010
I suggest you have look.
.