Continuing with our series on the new rules, going into effect next year, today a post which concludes Part 2 of the rule book.
Apart from some subtle changes, section D has also been renumbered:
When rule 21 or 22 applies between two boats, Section A rules do not.
21 STARTING ERRORS;
PENALTY TURNS TAKING PENALTIES; MOVING ASTERN
21.1 A boat sailing towards the pre-start side of the starting line or one of its extensions after her starting signal to start or to comply with rule 30.1 shall keep clear of a boat not doing so until she is completely on the pre-start side.
21.2 A boat
making a penalty turn taking a penalty shall keep clear of one that is not.
21.3 A boat moving astern by backing a sail shall keep clear of one that is not.
22 CAPSIZED, ANCHORED OR AGROUND; RESCUING
If possible, a boat shall avoid a boat that is capsized or has not
regained control after capsizing, is anchored or aground, or is trying to help a person or vessel in danger. A boat is capsized when her masthead is in the water.
23 INTERFERING WITH ANOTHER BOAT
23.1 If reasonably possible, a boat not racing shall not interfere with a boat that is racing.
A boat shall not change course if her only purpose is to interfere with a boat making a penalty turn or one on another leg or lap of the course. Except when sailing her proper course, a boat shall not interfere with a boat taking a penalty or sailing on another leg.
The discussion about when rule 21.2 limits a boat, is much shorter now.
As soon as you begin taking a penalty you have to keep clear. Not only after you passed head-to-wind.
Also we don't have to speculate or guess at the "purpose" of a boat anymore. If she sails a proper course, she can interfere, if she's not, she can't. Something introduced in Fleet racing which was already a long standing rule in Match Racing.