Sunday, 11 March 2012

Score 02/24 LTW 2012 Winter Challenge

As most of you have found the Challenge in episode 02/24 was to choose.
The stories by both sailors (and diagrams) were the same, except in a crucial point:
Did Purple pass head to wind before or after Grey had to bear away to go behind?

I've tried to give answers to the questions as if I was the representative of the boat(s). Both truthful and believing in their story, as much as possible.

The PC does not have the luxury to NOT decide an incident. They must choose and write down the facts found - thereby determining what has happened. Sometimes that can be different than what has actually occurred, but they must choose. If you can't, get the parties back in the room and continue the hearing.
A conclusion of "cannot decide" is unacceptable.

The presentation by the party can therefore make a huge difference. If a representative of the boat is able to convince the panel members of his side, they are more likely to go for his version. And since the outcome of a protest is usually very black and white (DSQ or not), that skill should be developed - as much as any sailing technique. It can cost you the race!

I'm happy to see that all of challengers did choose.

Scoring and comments are done with the comments in the original post:
LTW 2012 Winter Challenge 02/24:YES/NO

This is the new scoreboard:

No more ties at the moment. But if they occur, they will be resolved according to RRS A8.


  1. Jos,

    I deliberately didn't mention rule 18 in my decision to try and keep the conclusions shorter. I felt that is was unncessary because, in my mind, it was a simple rule 12 & 13 situation. You mentioned in a few comments that it was important to mention the relevant parts of rule 18. For future reference, I was wondering why that was?

    1. I understand your reasoning. And you are right that 12 and 13 are more relevant. But entering clear ahead does give mark-room to Purple and as soon as Grey gets an overlap that includes room to tack.
      Also 18.2(b) is switched of by 18.2(c) but that only means that 18.2(a) comes in effect. So after Grey has become right of way she still must give the inside boat mark-room.

    2. Jos, please could you clarify your point about 18.2(a) coming into effect if 18.2(c) switches off 18.2(b). Surely if Purple passes head to wind such that 18.2(c) switches off 18.2(b) then until Grey tacks the two boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward, or if not on a beat to windward, then surely they are on opposite tacks when the proper course for one (Grey) but not both of them is to tack, in which case isn't rule 18 switched off entirely until Grey also tacks? (I appreciate that this is pretty academic in the scenario here since it is nigh on impossible for Grey to interfere with Purple without herself tacking, but wanted to make sure that I understood your point more generally).


    3. You are right, once the boats are on different tack, the whole of rule 18 switches off. But then Grey also tacks and rule 18.2(a) comes on again.
      I wanted to make clear that a situation like this is very fluent in rules. Every action has to be translated to the appropriate set of rules...

  2. Jos

    I am also having difficulty about the 18.2(a) point. I totally agree with your rules interpretation, but how do conclusions about 18.2(a) help resolve the protest, or help the sailors to understand the panel's decision? If there had been further contact after both boats passed head to wind and bore away, then that would have been a separate incident. Isn't that what Brass used to refer to as a "rules discussion" that should be left out of written decisions.


  3. It makes it clear that although rule 18.2(c) switches of 18.2(b) that it does not preclude the use of 18.2(a) later on in the rounding.
    But I agree that it is more educational than practical.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...