Friday, 30 March 2012

LTW 2012 Winter Challenge E03/30; Last Episode!

In all likelihood this will be the last in the series. Two contestants have a good chance to reach over 100 points if they participate in this one. I still have to score the previous episode but that should bring them over 90 points..... And looking at there average the 100 is within reach.



Today's episode is with an animation. There are three boats involved, but only Purple protests, against both others. Boats are 11:Metre One Design in a Class championship. The incident happens in race 2. One race is scheduled every day for a total of 6 days.
The Grey boat is called Banks, the Red has the name Tiger and the Purple one has been named Hamilton Eleven.

The skipper of  Hamilton Eleven writes on his protest form:
"I protest against Tiger and Banks for helping each other. Tiger prevented me from finishing, so that Banks could finish before me. This is team racing and very unsporting. I protest on rule 2 and rule 69."



The incident happened at the finish. The RC recorded Tiger as having finished 4th, Banks as 5th and Hamilton Eleven as 6th in race 2.

You are a member of the Protest Committee panel and have been assigned as scribe. All three parties come to the hearing and you are allowed to ask three questions. One question to each of the boats. All questions before Tuesday 23:59 hours. They will be answered ASAP.

Your assignment is to write Facts Found, Conclusions & rules involved and a Decision.
Deadline is THURSDAY 23:59 hours, so as to be able to score on Friday April 6th and announce a winner for the LTW 2012 Winter Challenge before Easter.
Good luck,
J.

37 comments:

  1. Tiger: please explain your motivation for sailing this way. Be as detailed as you think is relevant.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tiger: "Hamilton Eleven is one point behind me in this regatta. By making sure there was another boat in between me and his finish, I could increase that delta by another point.
      I had mark-room, so I was entitled to sail to the mark. And I was ROW boat so he had to keep clear."

      Delete
  2. Question to TIGER (RED):
    Did you prevent HAMILTON ELEVEN (PURPLE) from finishing in order to benefit BANKS (GREY)? If so, why?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tiger: "No, I didn't do it to help Banks. I did it, to get more points between me and Hamilton Eleven"

      Delete
  3. For clarification - was the diagram supplied by one of the parties, or are they facts we should accept as part of the exercise?

    First question - to Hamilton Eleven.

    As you were approaching the port finishing mark, you were sailing inside Tiger when she had mark room and also right of way. What evidence or grounds do you have to prove that Tiger wasn't just defending her position?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. You can consider the diagram as facts found. This is what happened on the water.

      Hamilton Eleven: "Tiger would have finished before me anyway. She wasn't defending her position, she made sure I couldn't finish before Banks"

      Delete
  4. To Tiger: You were well ahead at position 1. When you headed up sharply at position 1, did you do so in part to slow the progress of Hamilton Standard to permit Banks to pass them?

    To Hamilton Standard: If Tiger was actually trying to help Banks pass you, why do you believe that was unsportsmanlike team racing?

    To Banks: If Tiger deliberately maneuvered to help you pass Hamilton Standard, was there a reasonable chance that would have helped her series result?

    ReplyDelete
  5. I meant Hamilton Eleven in my three questions.

    David S.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tiger: "Yes"

      Hamilton Eleven: "Using the rules to help another boat in a fleet race is unsportsmanlike. Look at Case 78 and Q&A 2011-022!"

      Banks: "I don't know, you should ask Tiger"

      Delete
  6. Hamilton Eleven: What do you base your statement that Tiger's action was "so that Banks could finish before me"?

    Banks's skipper: Please describe your connection to Tiger's skipper (e.g. do you know each other? are you related? do you sail in the same club? are you friends? etc.).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hamilton Eleven: "He sailed to the mark without leaving space for me. By the time I got back, Banks finished before me. I saw the helmsman of Tiger looking back at Banks before he luffed. He did it on purpose!! (is getting agitated) WHAT ELSE COULD HE HAVE BEEN DOING?"


      Banks: "The helmsman of Tiger is member of the same club as I. We known each other and sailed against each other for over four years. We've even sailed together on the same boat for a season two years back."

      Delete
  7. Question to Hamilton Eleven (Purple):

    What evidence do you have to support your allegation that Tiger (Red) and Banks (Grey) were "team racing" and that "Tiger prevented you from finishing so that Banks could finish before you"?

    Question to Tiger - Can you please describe the incident in your own words, giving where possible distances, boat speed and other details?

    Question to Banks : Do you have any close family or social relationship with the owner, skipper or crew of Tiger?

    Grey Bear

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Hamilton Eleven: "He sailed to the mark without leaving space for me. By the time I got back, Banks finished before me. I saw the helmsman of Tiger looking back at Banks before he luffed. He did it on purpose!! (is getting agitated) WHAT ELSE COULD HE HAVE BEEN DOING?. They are team members of the same club!&!&!&"

      Tiger: "Like the diagram describes. I deliberately went to the mark preventing Hamilton Eleven from finishing behind me. I thought there was a fair change that Banks could get in before Hamilton Eleven. That meant he would lose another point in the standings against me."

      Banks: "No relationship. I know him from the club. We sailed together one season. He's a friend"

      Delete
  8. Tiger, why did you sail the course that you did, in particular why did you not allow Hamilton Eleven to finish outside you?

    Hamilton Eleven, what reason do you have for believing that Tiger adopted the tactics she did in order to help Banks?

    Banks, is there any agreement between you and Tiger, or any other reason that you know of why Tiger should adopt tactics designed to improve your score?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Tiger: "So as to get another point ahead of Hamilton Eleven in the score"

      Hamilton Eleven: "He sailed to the mark without leaving space for me. By the time I got back, Banks finished before me. I saw the helmsman of Tiger looking back at Banks before he luffed. He did it on purpose!! (is getting agitated) WHAT ELSE COULD HE HAVE BEEN DOING?. They are team members of the same club!&!&!&"

      Banks: "No of course not. We both sail to win this regatta and are NOT helping each other. In fact I resent the accusation. We have no agreement of any kind. We are just friends"

      Delete
  9. To Red: please give all the details of your relationship with Grey.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The helmsman of Banks is member of the same club as I. We known each other and sailed against each other for over five years. We've even sailed together on the same boat for a season two years back.

      Delete
  10. One information that would be available to the protest committee - number of entries in the event. Could you give details please.

    Grey Bear

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Number of boats entered: 24
      Number of boats sailed in race 2: 22

      Scores:
      Tiger: R1: 3rd; R2: 4th
      Banks: R1: 12th; R2: 5th
      Hamilton Eleven: R1: 4th; R2: 6th.

      Delete
  11. Facts found:
    (Note that protest is limited to claim that Tiger and Banks were team racing; no claim that Tiger or Banks broke any rule except 2 and 69).

    PC endorses diagram.

    Tiger one point ahead of Hamilton Eleven before start of race.

    Tiger adopted the tactics that she did to worsen Hamilton Eleven’s score in the race and series, with the objective of benefiting Tiger’s series result. Tiger did not adopt the tactics to improve Banks’ score. No agreement or other relationship between Tiger and Banks.

    Conclusions:
    Tiger did not break any rule except possibly rules 2 and 69.

    Tiger’s tactics were compatible with benefiting her series result, hence in compliance with recognised principles of sportsmanship and fair play, hence no breach of rule 2 or 69. (See ISAF Case 34 and Q&A A001 2011-022. NB ISAF Case 78 has been withdrawn for revision).

    Banks was the innocent beneficiary of Tiger’s tactics, hence no breach of rule 2 or 69 (or 41).

    Decision:
    Protest dismissed.

    Zaphod

    (If you wanted an analysis of the boat-on-boat situation then the key rule is 18.2(b) – Tiger being clear ahead on zone entry and hence rule 18.2(a) not applying even after Hamilton Eleven obtains an inside overlap).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. In fact, this time your have to investigate any other rule involved, because if a rule is broken to improve your scoring in the race or series, that constitutes a breach of rule 2....
      Scoring: 0,5 point because of your footnote, but it should have been in the writing. I'm also giving you 1 point for facts found instead of 2. The rest is okay.
      You do get a bonus point for using the correct Q&A.
      Score 9,5 points

      Delete
  12. :::::::VERSION ONE:::::::
    Abbreviations:
    TIGER (RED): T
    HAMILTON ELEVEN (PURPLE): HE
    BANKS (GREY): B

    Facts Found:
    1. The diagram is endorsed.
    2. The incident occurred in race 2 of a 6 race series.
    3. T deliberately blocked HE from finishing, delaying her finish until after B.
    4. The crews of B and T are friends.
    5. T was scored 3rd in race 1, 4th in race 2.
    6. HE was scored 4th in race 1, 6th in race 2

    Conclusions:
    1. T was both ROW boat, and was owed mark-room by HE. T did not break a rule of part 2.
    2. T’s actions benefited B’s score by one point, and damaged HE’s score by one point.
    3. T’s actions were intended to help her own series result, and were not intended to help B.
    4. T’s tactic increased her lead over HE in the series from 2 points to 3 points.
    5. There is good reason to believe that T’s tactic had a reasonable chance of benefiting her own series result (case 78).
    6. T does not break rule 2.
    7. B broke no rule.

    Decision:
    HE’s protest of T is dismissed.
    HE’s protest of B is dismissed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Score 8,5 points
      You conclude T was ROW and owed mark-room, but do not mention 11 and 18.2(b)..... I would also have liked if you draw this conclusion after having written the facts found what made you draw this conclusion. I have given you 1 point for facts found, nevertheless.
      Where is your conclusion on 69?
      And alas, Case 78 is withdrawn.

      Delete
    2. Sorry Goomer, I forgot to deduct your malus point. Score is 7,5 point...

      Delete
  13. :::::::VERSION TWO:::::::
    :::::::Please take version one as my official entry. I am interested in seeing how you would score version 2, which deviates only after conclusion 4::::::::::::

    Abbreviations:
    TIGER (RED): T
    HAMILTON ELEVEN (PURPLE): HE
    BANKS (GREY): B

    Facts Found:
    1. The diagram is endorsed.
    2. The incident occurred in race 2 of a 6 race series.
    3. T deliberately blocked HE from finishing, delaying her finish until after B.
    4. The crews of B and T are friends.
    5. T was scored 3rd in race 1, 4th in race 2.
    6. HE was scored 4th in race 1, 6th in race 2

    Conclusions:
    1. T was both ROW boat, and was owed mark-room by HE. T did not break a rule of part 2.
    2. T’s actions benefited B’s score by one point, and damaged HE’s score by one point.
    3. T’s actions were intended to help her own series result, and were not intended to help B.
    4. T’s tactic increased her lead over HE in the series from 2 points to 3 points.
    5. Since the incident did not occur in the final race or races of the series, it can not be concluded that there was a reasonable chance that T’s tactic would benefit her series result (case 78).
    6. T did not comply with recognized principles of sportsmanship and fair play. T breaks rule 2.
    7. B broke no rule.

    Decision:
    HE’s protest of B is dismissed.
    T is DSQ (rule 2).

    PC’s action under rule 69.1:
    PC calls a hearing, and informs T in writing of the alleged misconduct.

    Rule 69.1 Decision:
    T is warned (rule 69.1(b)(1))
    [Discussion: T is advised to study Case 78]

    Redress:
    Redress is granted to HE (rule 62.1(d)). HE’s score in race 2 to be adjusted from 6th to 4th (this includes moving up one place under rule A6.1).

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Score 2,5 points.
      You can improve your score even in the first race by doing what Tiger did. Your conclusion that it can only be done in the last is wrong.
      If you want to conclude this the facts have to be different.
      Again you do not mention rule 11 and 18.2(b)
      Tiger improved her scoring and broke no rules.
      Case 78 is no more> Use Q&A 2011-022 instead.
      I've given you an extra point for thinking about the redress....

      Delete
  14. Hamilton Eleven's protest is valid.


    Facts found

    1. Approaching a downwind finish line, Tiger was running on port, clear ahead of Hamilton Eleven. Banks, running on port, was far astern of both boats.
    2. Tiger entered the zone of the starboard end of the line, clear ahead, and immediately luffed to a broad reach towards the port end of the line. At no point during this manoeuvre were the two boats overlapped.
    3. Tiger entered the zone of the port end of the line clear ahead by about one third of a boat length.
    4. When Tiger luffed, Hamilton Eleven had room, if she wished to do so, to pass astern of Tiger and sail directly to the finish line.
    5. Hamilton Eleven luffed to the same course as Tiger, and, sailing faster, became overlapped to windward on the inside of Tiger as Hamilton Eleven entered the zone.
    6. Tiger passed the line less than two metres from the finish mark.
    7. Hamilton Eleven luffed to windward of the mark, tacked and bore away to finish after Banks.
    8. By her actions Tiger did not make her own race score worse. Tiger was third in the race before the incident, and finished in the same position.
    9. Tiger explains her actions as a tactic to increase the series points difference between herself and Hamilton Eleven, a close competitor.
    10. At the start of the race Tiger had a one point lead in the series. Before the incident, Tiger had a 2 point series lead, this increased to 3 points as a result of Hamilton Eleven finishing behind Banks.
    11. The skipper of Tiger and the helmsman of Banks are members of the same club and have sailed together in the past.

    Conclusions

    1. Hamilton Eleven was obliged to give Tiger mark-room (rule 18.2(b)) and to keep clear (rule 11). Hamilton Eleven did so.
    2. Tiger did not break a rule of Part 2. Tiger's tactic was intended to benefit her series result, and did so. Tiger's action to increase the points difference with a close competitor, even in the early stage of a competition, and especially as the action taken did not worsen Red's race score, did not break recognised principles of sportsmanship and fair play. Tiger did not break rule 2.
    3. Tiger's action did benefit Hamilton Eleven, but only as result of Tiger benefiting her own series result (see Answer 4 of Case 78).
    4. Membership of the same club, or having sailed together on the same boat in previous regattas, are insufficient grounds to support an allegation of “team racing” without further evidence of collusion between boats.

    Conclusion

    Protest dismissed

    Notes
    1. Case 78 refers to incidents in which a boat deliberately makes her own race score worse to make the score of another boat worse. In this incident Tiger did not make her own race score worse. Tiger had several legitimate tactical options to sail from entering the zone to the finish. She chose the option that not only ensured her 3rd place in the race but had the additional advantage of worsening the series score of a close competitor.
    2. TR Rapid Response Call 2011-1 describes a similar but not identical situation. The call affirms that Tiger, clear ahead at the zone, is entitled to room to sail to the mark even if this is not the course she would sail to finish as soon as possible in the absence of other boats.

    Grey Bear

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Almost.
      9 points for your answer. I'm missing rule 69 and alas, Case 78 is no longer valid, so deducting 1 point gives you a score of 8 points.
      Which brings you to 101 points and THE winner of the LTW 2012 Winter Challenge.
      Congratulations!

      I'll send you the certificate and Grand Prize asap.

      Delete
  15. Protest valid. Diagram by Hamilton Eleven is endorsed by the protest committee.

    FACTS FOUND
    On a broad reach towards the finish, Tiger and Hamilton Eleven sailed on port tack.
    Tiger entered the zone of the finish mark to be left to port clear ahead of Hamilton Eleven.
    Hamilton Eleven acquired windward overlap with Tiger.
    Tiger finished and did not give mark-room to Hamilton Eleven.
    Hamilton Eleven passed the finish mark to starboard, luffed, tacked, and finished. In the meantime, Banks finished before Hamilton Eleven.
    Tiger's hindering of Hamilton Eleven had the objective of worsening Hamilton Eleven's score. Her objective was not to benefit Banks directly.

    CONCLUSIONS AND RULES THAT APPLY
    Hamilton Eleven was not entitled to mark-room from Tiger under rule 18.2(b) and had to keep clear of Tiger under rule 11. She kept clear.
    Tiger did not break any rule of part 2 against Hamilton Eleven. Her hindering of Hamilton Eleven was with the objective to further her relative standing in the regatta, was made without breaking any rule, and is thus not a violation of rule 2 (ref. case 34; the case and Q&A referred to by Hamilton Eleven have been currently withdrawn from the books).

    DECISION
    Protest is dismissed.

    * A hearing under rule 69 is not openened based on the report, either.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Score 8 points. Couple of things;
      In the FF you wrote: 'Tiger did not give give mark-room to Hamilton Eleven'. Stick to the wording in the rules and don't use them inappropriately. I would have written: Tiger did not leave room between her and the mark for Hamilton Eleven.
      Tiger does not have to give mark-room.
      Where is your conclusion on Banks?
      The Case is withdrawn, but Q&A 2011-022 is still very much valid! No bonus points.
      Otherwise good.

      Delete
  16. FF: PC endorses the diagram. Tiger was clear ahead of Hamilton Eleven on entering the zone and did not give her mark-rom when Hamilton Eleven later became overlapped inside Tiger.
    Tiger did it purposefully in order to increase the difference between his score and Hamilton Eleven’s score. By doing this, Tiger’s overall score did not suffer, while Hamilton Eleven fell behind Tiger by an additional point because it gave Banks time to finish before Hamilton Eleven. Before this race, Banks was 9 points behind Tiger while Hamilton Eleven was 1 point behind.

    Conclusions & rules involved: Tiger was ROW by RRS 11 and was entitled to mark-room by 18.2(b). Tiger was not under RRS 17. Considering Tiger’s much bigger lead over Banks, who benefited from Tiger’s action, there was a reasonable chance that her action would benefit her score by increasing her lead over her immediate competitor, Hamilton Eleven. This fulfils the condition described in Answer 1 of Case 78 even though it did not happen in the final race of the series. While doing this, Tiger did not break any rule, so according to case 78 she did not break RRS 2, either. Neither Banks nor Hamilton Eleven broke any rule.

    Decision: protest dismissed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. MMmmm, Facts Found still read like conclusions to me.
      Look at this way. If you didn't know the diagram, would you be able to draw it based on what you had written?
      Alas Case 78 is no longer valid. Q&A 2011-022 is.
      But you got the right conclusion and decision.
      Save it that you don't mention 69.
      Score 7 points

      Delete
  17. ** Dear Jos I know i sent my answer outside the time limit. If you think i my answer is "invalid" it's ok. Yesterday i was travelling all day to go to an event in France.

    The protest by Purple is valid


    FACTS FOUND:
    • Red and Purple were approaching the finish line on port tack, with Red clear aheaf of Purple
    • Purple luffed sharply. Both boats became overlapped within the zone with Red to leeward and on the inside and Purple to windward and on the outside
    • Red sailed to the pin end of the finish line. Red bore away to clear the finish line when near to the mark of the finish line
    • Purple luffed, tacked and bore away on starboard tack and crossed the finish line
    • Grey crossed the finished line ahead of Purple
    • Red finished 4th, Grey 5th and Purple 6th
    • There was only one point of difference between Red and Purple in the scoring

    CONCLUSIONS:
    Red, using good tactics, interfered and hindered Purple progress in the race. Red while adopting these tactics did not break any rule. The adoption of these tactics benefited in Red series score. The adoptions of these tactics by Red was not in any way unsportsmanlike

    DECISION:
    Purple protest is dismissed

    I think from the testimonies, at least I, couldn't establish a clear team racing tactic from Red as she benefited her score.
    Steviekouris

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. The deadlines are to make sure nobody reads the other's entry before sending in their own. Since you've send in yours before I published, I let it slide....
      Looking at the mark Red became the outside boat with Purple on the inside..... Mind your wording.
      Next time mention rule 18.2(b) and 11 in rules involved.
      Where's your conclusion on Banks?
      And on 69?
      Score 7 points

      Delete
  18. Happiness Room6 April 2012 11:55

    Validity
    Purple files a protest against Red and Gray at 16:00. Protest time limit was 16:30. Purples hailed “protest” 3 seconds after being force outside the finish line. Purple flew a red flag 5 second after hailing “Protest”. Purple’s protest is valid

    Facts Found
    *Red, Purple and Gray were approaching a downwind finish line on port tack of Race 2.
    *Red was one boat length directly ahead of Purple when she was 3 boat length from the finish line. They were both heading toward one boat length left of the committee boat.
    *Red then headed up 30 degrees and entered the zone for the buoy end of the finish line.
    *Red was clear ahead of Purple at the Zone (Buoy) by 7 meters.
    *Purple sailing faster than Red established an overlap to windward of Red after both boats were in the zone.
    *Red sailed to 1 meter to the right(Looking downwind) of the finish line buoy.
    *Purple sailed to the left of the finish line buoy. After passing the mark she tacked and then headed upwind to the course side of the finish line and then headed down and crossed the line on starboard gybe.
    *Grey who has been 5 boat lengths behind Purple at the zone crossed the finish line ahead of Purple while she tacked to go back and finish.
    *After the first race Purple was one point ahead of Red and Grey was 9 points behind Red.

    Conclusion
    *Purple was not entitled to room because Red was clear ahead of Purple at the zone. Purple gave Red mark room as required under RRS18.2 (b)
    *Red had good reason to want Grey to beat Purple: having Grey finish ahead of Purple, Red would have a bigger lead if further races were sailed.

    Decision
    *No rules were broken
    *Protest dismissed

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Facts Found are very accurate but a little long. Work on shortening them. But I can draw the picture from them very nicely.
      I'm missing your conclusion on Banks, and on rule 2 and 69 for Tiger. Also, Red was not only not obliged to give mark-room, she was also right of way boat and Purple had to keep clear.
      Score 8 points.

      Delete
  19. Congratulations Grey Bear. And thank you very much Jos for a very interesting and challenging competition.

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...