I've received a couple of interesting pieces and will post them in the coming weeks. (Please be patient if your piece isn't published straight away, I'll try to get to all of them).
The first is related to Timing (in) the rules, a post from friday a week ago. Paul Gingras asks a question:
Say you are sailing a leg of a course and another competitor hails "Protest" at you but you are not sure that you have fouled that other yacht. So you think about the situation as you complete that leg and begin to sail the next leg of the course. Halfway through this next leg you decide that yes, you did foul the protesting yacht, so you do your penalty turns at that time. Can you wait this long to do your turns?
Thanks, Paul Gingras.
I know most Protest committees will say that the penalty has been taken to late. On the next leg of the course is not "at the time of the incident". But I can perfectly understand someone not knowing straight away if a rule has been infringed. Hell, we need half an hour in the room to figure things out. Why is it that this two rounds penalty is not acceptable? Or, shouldn't it be?