In recent months another issue about the new rules has been surfacing. First discovered by Chris Love from Sailgroove and subject of intense discussions on several forums and blogs, now another twist has been added.
I'm referring to "The Move".
What is "the Move"
The second sentence of Rule 18.2(c) switches off rule 18.2(b) when the boat entitled to mark-room leaves the zone or either boat passes head to wind. In the RRS 2005-2008 it was only the boat who entered the zone as clear ahead boat - thereby gaining RoW - who could switch off rule 18 by passing head to wind. In the new RRS 2009-2012 that can be done by either boat. So if the clear astern boat somehow manages to tack AND establish an inside overlap she has the right to mark-room, if the outside boat is able to give it. Here's the situational diagram (from BI Star Fleet - Blog)
US College Racing does not wait for ISAF
With permission of US Sailing, RRS rule 18.2(c) has been changed for the competition. From the newly published 2009-2012 ICSA Procedural Rules and Collegiate Dinghy Class Rules:
7.5 OTHER RULES
7.5.1 In accordance with the US SAILING prescription to RRS rule 86.3, the second sentence of RRS rule 18.2(c) is changed to "However, if the boat entitled to mark-room passes head to wind or leaves the zone, rule 18.2(b) ceases to apply.” This proposed rule remains in effect unless rule 18.2(c) is changed in the RRS.
This is what Mitchell Brindley, President of ICSA said about it:
Please find the link at www.collegesailing.org for the 2009-2012 Procedural Rules. Everyone should review these, and if you are a hosting an event you need to have a printed copy available.
Also take note of the Class rule 7.5.1 on the last page. ICSA has chosen to be proactive concerning the unintended consequences of RRS 18.2(c). The essence of the problem is that rule 18.2(c) turns off rule 18.2(b) when either boat tacks. This allows a boat that is required to give mark-room under rule 18.2(b) to get out of that obligation by crossing head to wind, and then claim mark-room under rule 18.2(a) from boats that are already at the mark. In certain scenarios, this would have an outcome that runs counter to the general concept of rule 18.2(b), which "locks in" mark-rounding obligations early.
It is the feeling of the majority of the US Sailing Racing Rules Committee that ISAF will make a correction to the RRS later this spring. The ICSA executive committee did not want college sailing to have to accept what could amount to a significant game change in mid-season. ICSA is essentially "testing" an experimental rule prior to the expected implementation.
I do want to thank the ICSA Rules Committee and Chairman, Geoff Becker for their efforts.
It appears that the US SAILING RRS Committee is also expecting a change in the rules from ISAF.
What do you think? Should ISAF change 18.2(c)?
You can now also Vote on the new Poll in the sidebar.