In RRS 18.2(c) changed in US College Sailing!, an LTW post from 15 February, we discussed the change US Intercollegiate Sailing Association made in the RRS 2009-2012.
Although a slight majority of the readers who voted, wanted to go back to the "old rules" for switching off rule 18.2(b) by changing rule 18.2(c), I'm afraid that it does not look like they will be obliged any time soon.
I've written to the chairman of the Racing Rules Committee and to the chairman of the RRC Section C Working party and received this answer from Dick Rose:
Dear Mr. Spijkerman,
At the time that the U. S. Intercollegiate Sailing Association ("ICSA") took the action it did and posted the material you quoted on the web, US SAILING was considering making a submission to ISAF for consideration at its Spring Meeting in May, 2009 in Poland, and that submission would have been to change rule 18.2(c) immediately after the May 2009 meeting.
However, since the material you quote was posted on the web, the US SAILING Racing Rules Committee withdrew the submission from consideration by the US SAILING Board of Directors. As a result, US SAILING will NOT propose that an immediate change in rule 18.2(c) be made by ISAF in May in Poland.
Note that it is my understanding that the ICSA is now reconsidering its decision to change rule 18.2(c) for its racing during Spring 2009.
As things stand now within US SAILING, it is likely that US SAILING will make a submission proposing a change in rule 18.2(c). However, US SAILING now is planning to send this submission to ISAF in the normal way (before the 1 August 2009 submission deadline) for consideration by ISAF at the November 2009 meeting in Korea. If ISAF approved that change, then the change would probably take effect on 1 January 2013, when the next edition of the racing rules will take effect.
I hope this helps to answer your questions. If you have further questions, please feel free to contact me.
Dick Rose, Secretary, US SAILING Racing Rules Committee and Chairman, ISAF Racing Rules Committee Working Party
So, if you want to practice the "Move" and are able to get an inside overlap at a time the outside boat is still able to give room, go for it!
Like Kral Oyun wrote in his comment: "then we should stand back, admire their boat handling, say "congratulations" and let them sail away untroubled by the umpires...."