Friday, 20 January 2012

LTW 2012 Winter Challenge - Episode 20/01

We have 12 contestants in the 2012 Winter Challenge at the moment. Unless you're very fast, you've missed the first episode (deadline is midnight tonight). But since the competition is to gather 100 points, perhaps you can catch up?


In the mean time here is Episode 20/01 in the
LTW 2012 Winter Challenge

Facts Found:

From positions 1 trough 3 boats are on opposite tacks, with Blue on Port tack, passing in front of Orange on Starboard tack. Orange is sailing about one boat length below the lay-line.

Blue luffs to tack in position 3.
Blue completes her tack to Starboard in the zone at a distance of one boat-length to windward and to the right of Orange, who luffs to head-to-wind to 'shoot' the mark.













Orange looses speed and after having passed the mark, bears off. Blue also bears off and gains speed. She is sailing a course that leaves about one boat-length space between the mark and her.
There is contact in position 5













Orange bears off even more and Blue is forced up.
Orange shouts protest in position 6 and displays a red flag in position 7

The contact caused no damage.
Neither boat took a penalty.












Rules of Part 2 involved: 10, 11, 13, 14, 16.1, 18.2(a), 18.3 and 18.5.


Winter Arrives in England; Broadway Tower, Fish Hill, Worcestershire

As a reminder, these are the Challenge Instructions again: (As AMENDED per 20/01/12 )
You are a member of the PC panel deciding the protest(s)

You are allowed ONE* question (so think about what you want to ask!) by using the comments button before the next Tuesday 08:00 GMT+01:00. (=my time)  After that, give me your conclusion and decision, within a week of posting, please. DEADLINE for this episode is 27/01/2012 23:59h.
(*if you ask more than one Q, I’ll answer only the first) & [and as a consequence I’ll edit your comment]

Questions will be answered in the order they are send in, after the deadline. Conclusions and Decisions will be published after one (and a bit) week. Points are awarded on consistency between conclusion and decision, and arguments used to reach them. The more succinct, the better!
[But they must be complete and refer to all rules involved]

Max 10 points per episode. First to reach 100 points wins a Sailors Quarrel Bag including a paper-plate with the Zone and Lay-lines [no second guessing or comments on scoring, please]
One entry per person – AND, you must use a NICKNAME to enter the competition – by sending an Email to me, with your email address, your real name and that nickname. rrs-study (at) home (dot) nl. Please put LTW 2012 Winter Challenge in the subject line. [If you want to remain anonymous use a nickname that isn’t the same or close to, your real name, but it is up to you]

To make it more equal, ISAF IJ’s or IU’s start with minus 25 points.

Good Luck.
Jos.

UPDATE 24/01/2012 08:52 (GMT+1)
Answers to all (seven) questions below in the comments. Welcome to Bowman - a new challenger.
Good luck to all. You have until Friday midnight to send in your entries.

29 comments:

  1. Question to Orange: Did you pass head to wind when you luffed to shoot the mark?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I don't think so. I was not looking at my gib, but at the mark to decide when I could turn down.

      Delete
  2. question to orange:
    from position 3, would you have made the same Maneuver in the absence of blue?
    in other words: would bearing off earlier than you did now have resulted in you hitting the mark?

    ReplyDelete
  3. At position 5, when Orange was "at the mark," did it promptly bear off to its "proper course?"

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Are you asking me? YES

      Delete
  4. Was there any compelling reason that forced Blue to bear away into a contact with Orange?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Whom do you ask? (Assuming Blue: Orange had plenty of room, she hit me!)

      Delete
  5. "Orange, please could you explain why you sailed the course that you did?"

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I couldn't bear away sooner, that would have meant I might hit the mark. The Blue boat should have kept clear.

      Delete
  6. Question for Orange:
    At positions 5 and 6, were you doing everything you could to bear away hard, including putting the tiller hard over and steering with the sails?

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I didn't have much head-way, but I tried to turn down as efficiently as possible, so YES

      Delete
  7. If I could I would ask Orange to... "Please describe your actions between shouting protest (at position 6) and displaying your protest flag (at position 7), including the estimated time you think elapsed between each event

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I do not rightly understand your question. I continued to bear away. Time was maybe 2 seconds?

      Delete
  8. These are a lot of LEADING questions!

    ReplyDelete
  9. 1. Blue on port tack kept clear of Orange on starboard tack. Blue did not break rule 10.
    2. Blue changed tack and became subject to rule 13 in the zone. Orange was fetching the mark. Rule 18.3 applies and rule 18.2 does not.
    3. Orange became overlapped on the inside when Blue was subject to rule 13. Blue must give Orange mark-room (rule 18.3). Blue was overlapped to windward and must keep clear of Orange (rule 11).
    4. Orange sailed to the mark and, at the mark, promptly bore away towards her proper course. Orange was taking mark-room to which she was entitled (rule 18.3).
    5. Blue, overlapped to windward of Orange, did not keep clear. Blue broke rule 11.
    6. Blue did not give mark-room to Orange to sail her proper course at the mark. Blue broke rule 18.3(b).
    7. It was reasonably possible for Blue to avoid contact. Blue broke rule 14.
    8. Orange was right of way boat and entitled to room. Before contact it was not clear to Orange that Blue was neither keeping clear nor giving mark-room. Blue did not break rule 14.

    Decision

    Blue is disualified (rule 64.1(a))


    Grey Bear

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Very nearly perfect I think. a pity about the mix up in the last conclusion.
      9 points

      Delete
  10. Conclusions & arguments

    - Initially, Blue on port was required by rule 10 to keep clear of Orange. She did so by passing clear ahead.
    - When Blue tacked she was required to keep clear under rule 13 and did so.
    - Once Blue completed her tack rule 18.3 applied because she had been subject to rule 13 in the zone and Orange was fetching the mark.
    - Orange became overlapped inside Blue. Blue was then required to give Orange mark room under rule 18.3(b).
    - Orange sailed her proper course at the mark. When her stern was abreast of the mark she bore away to round it. In doing so, she sailed the course she would have sailed in the absence of Blue, given that she lost momentum close to the mark. Because Blue sailed her proper course at the mark, she took only the room as she was entitled to under rule 18.3(b).
    - Blue broke rule 18.3(b) because she didn’t allow Orange to take that mark room without contact.
    - Blue broke rule 11 because she bore away towards Orange such that Blue needed to take action to avoid contact.
    - Orange complied with rule 16.1 because she gave Blue room to keep clear. While Orange luffed, the space between the boats was diminished in part by Blue’s action of bearing away towards Orange. Orange then bore away herself, away from Blue, when they were still one boat length apart.
    - Even if Orange had broken rule 16.1, she would have been exonerated under rule 18.5 because her changes of course were consistent with a rounding of the mark on her proper course.
    - Blue could have reasonably avoided contact by not bearing away as she did. She broke rule 14.
    - Orange, as the right of way boat, did not break rule 14. It became evident that Blue wasn’t keeping clear when the boats were on a collision course. It was not then possible for Orange to avoid contact. She bore away as hard as she reasonably could, given that she had lost speed, but contact occurred nevertheless.
    - Although rule 18.2(a) is mentioned in the problem, it doesn’t apply.

    Decision

    Blue is DSQ

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Rule 18.3 is in effect when the boat is subject to rule 13, not only after the tack is completed. Also a mix-up in colours in conclusion 5> Orange was sailing her proper course at the mark. This one is better than the previous entry, but still a little 'long'.
      Oooh, 18.2 is mentioned because rule 18.3 specifically switches it off - unless Orange passed head to wind.
      9 points

      Delete
  11. • Red flag flown and protest hail made as soon as reasonably possible: protest is valid.
    • Between positions 1-3, rule 18 does not apply because the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward (RRS 18.1a)—Orange is the right of way boat (RRS 10).
    • As Blue luffs to tack, Orange luffs to pass the mark on the required side and is subject to RRS 16.1.
    • Shortly after (1–2 seconds) Blue passes head to wind and is subject to RRS 13 in the zone; both boats are now on the same tack. Blue keeps clear of Orange whilst tacking.
    • Rule 18.3 applies because Blue was subject to rule 13 in the zone and Orange is fetching the mark (definition of fetching) as evidenced by her course around the mark. Rule 18.2 does not apply because rule 18.3 does. Rule 11 applies because both boats are overlapped on the same tack. Blue is required to keep clear of Orange and provide mark-room to Orange (Rule 18.3b).
    • Blue initially keeps clear of Orange but bears away and then hits Orange. Orange does not break rule 16.1 because there is room for Blue to keep clear; if Blue had not steered to leeward she would have been able to keep clear of Orange.
    • Orange did everything reasonably possible to avoid contact after it became clear that Blue was not keeping clear nor giving enough mark-room to Orange; Orange complied with Rule 14.

    Decision: Protest is valid. Blue broke Rules 11 and 18.3. Penalise Blue, which shall be a disqualification in that race as per Rule 64.1a. Redress for Orange not needed.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Very good entry. I agree with your conclusions and decision. Only redress? Why do you decide on redress when nobody asked you to?
      Next time try to say the same with 30% words less.
      8 points

      Delete
  12. Position 1: Orange on Starboard, Blue on port. Blue keeping clear - a clean cross. No issue. In the zone, but 18 doesn't apply (opposite tacks)
    Position 2: likewise
    Position 3: Blue has luffed to head to wind. Still on opposite tacks.
    Position 4: Blue has tacked on to starboard in the zone, and is now windward/keep clear boat. 15 does not apply - no change in RoW boat. Orange has luffed to head to wind, and is now at the mark.

    18.3 applies. Blue tacked in the zone, orange is fetching the mark, as she does not need to tack to round the mark.
    18.2 does not apply. Blue has to give orange mark room, and "shall not prevent the other boat from passing the mark on the required side".

    Position 5. Orange is still at the mark, and therefore has the right to room to sail her proper course, which she is doing - with her downspeed bear away. Blue bears away into orange, and makes contact. Blue did not keep clear of orange as required as a windward boat. Blue's bear away into orange also breaks 14.

    Position 6. Orange is now past the mark, still bearing away and sailing her proper course. Hails protest and flies a flag.

    Conclusion:

    Orange's protest is valid
    Blue broke 11,18.3 and 14. No damage was caused, so her breach of 14 does not result in a penalty.
    Blue DSQ for breach of 11 and 18.3.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Better than last episode, but still a lot of facts in the wording. Your conclusions are not separated from the decision. In rule 14 only the right of way boat or one entitled to room or mark room gets a 'freebie' when there's no damage. Blue is keep clear boat, so she does not.
      9 points (You scored 7, but get 2 bonus points for the best question)

      Delete
  13. Conclusions
    1. Up to position 3, Blue (port tack) keeps clear of Orange (stbd tack) as required by rule 10. (Rule 18 does not apply at this time as the boats are on opposite tacks on a beat to windward).
    2. As soon as Blue passes head to wind rule 18.3 switches on as the boats are now on the same tack, Blue is subject to rule 13 inside the zone, and Orange is fetching the mark (as proven by the fact that she subsequently passes the mark to windward on the required side without changing tack). Rule 18.2 therefore does not apply hereafter as it is switched off by rule 18.3.
    3. Shortly thereafter Orange becomes overlapped inside and to leeward of Blue and is therefore entitled to mark room under rule 18.3(b), as well as being right-of-way boat (initially under rule 13 and then rule 11). Orange sails to the mark and sails her proper course at the mark (without tacking). She is still at the mark when contact occurs.
    4. Orange’s luff and bear away at the mark do not break rule 16.1 (even if Orange had made no further change of course Blue could have kept clear by luffing after position 4), but even if Orange had broken rule 16.1 she would be exonerated under rule 18.5(b) as she was taking mark room to which she was entitled.
    5. Blue keeps clear whilst tacking (rule 13) but by continuing to bear away thereafter fails to give Orange mark-room, specifically room to sail her proper course at the mark (rule 18.3). Blue (windward) also fails to keep clear of Orange (leeward) as required by rule 11. Orange broke no rule that compelled Blue to break these rules.
    6. Blue could reasonably have avoided contact by maintaining her course from position 4 onwards. She was also keep clear boat and not entitled to room (other than room to keep clear which she was given). She therefore also broke rule 14.
    7. Since Orange was right-of-way boat and entitled to mark room, and there was no damage or injury as a result of the contact, she is not to be penalised under rule 14.
    Decision
    Protest upheld. Disqualify (DSQ) Blue for breach of rules 18.3, 11 and 14.
    Zaphod

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Correct, but still too long. Save in conclusion 7; Orange never breaks 14, so she does not need to be excused by the lack of damage.
      10 points (You scored 9 but get a bonus point for a good question)

      Delete
  14. Conclusions

    1. (While the boats were approaching the mark on opposite tacks, Blue on port tack complied with rule 10 by keeping clear of Orange.)
    2. (Blue was keeping clear as tacking boat under rule 13.)
    3. At position 5, Blue a windward boat did not keep clear of Orange a leeward boat. Blue broke rule 11.
    4. Since Blue was subject to rule 13 in the zone while Orange was fetching the mark, rule 18.3(b) required Blue to give Orange mark-room, and rule 18.2 as a whole did not apply thereafter.
    5. Orange sailed her proper course while at the mark (until at least position 5), therefore Orange was taking mark-room to which she was entitled. Blue broke also rule 18.3(b).
    6. When Orange changed course at the mark, from positions 3 to 5, she gave Blue room to keep clear, so complied with rule 16.1. Had Orange broken rule 16.1 here, she would have been exonerated under rule 18.5.
    7. It was reasonably possible for Blue to avoid contact. Blue broke rule 14.
    8. It was not reasonably possible for Orange to avoid contact. She did not break rule 14.
    9. (Orange became overlapped from clear astern within two of her hull-lengths to leeward of Blue, but her course was not limited by rule 17, since the overlap began while Blue was required by rule 13 to keep clear. Furthermore, Orange had right-of-way during the whole incident, so no rule required her to bear away around the mark. )

    Decision DSQ Blue

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Good. Next time use less words. And your conclusion on 17 is not correct.
      Rule 17 only applies when the overlap is established from clear astern. Orange became inside boat as soon as Blue passed head to wind, she never came from clear astern.
      7 points. (I've deducted an extra point for a leading question)

      Delete
  15. Conclusions
    1. Orange had ROW at every moment. Initially by rule 10, then 13, then 11.
    2. Blue changes tack in the zone (rule 13) while Orange is fetching the mark, so rule 18.3 applies. Blue owes Orange mark-room under rule 18.3(b).
    3. I find that the overlap began while Blue was subject to rule 13. So rule 17 does not apply.
    4. Between positions 4 and 5, Blue had plenty of room to keep clear, but failed to do so.
    - Orange does not break rule 16.1.
    - Blue breaks rules 11 and 14.
    5. Orange sailed a proper course while at the mark. Blue failed to give sufficient mark-room. Blue also breaks rule 18.3(b).

    Decision
    Protest is upheld.
    Blue is disqualified (rules 11, 14 and 18.3(b))

    Discussion:
    Since 17 was off, Orange was not required to bear away around the mark.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Also a good entry.
      Some notes: I fail so see why rule 17 is an issue or needs to be discussed; Orange never made an overlap from clear astern.
      Try to keep your language neutral and the wording according to the rules. (I find?, plenty?)
      8 points (you scored 9, but get a one point deduction for a leading question)

      (and my sincere apologies for my omission)

      Delete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...