Tuesday, 14 February 2012

ISAF Q&A 2012 - 001 F12: Scoring and OCS

The first Q&A in 2012!

Is about BFD, rule 28.1 and the obligation by the RC to score a race if a boat finishes within the time limit.
Have a look at: ISAF Q&A 2012-001 F12

As per usual, there's also an updated Q&A Booklet: V12-02-12

My question to you:
Suppose besides a time limit for the first mark and the race, there's also a time limit for the finish in the SI - say 20 minutes. I quote the SI:
10.4 Boats failing to finish within the time stated in the Finish time limit after the first boat sails the course and finishes will be scored Did Not Finish. This changes RRS 35, A4 and A5.
Does the clock start with the finish of boat A, boat B or boat C?

Whereas boat A and B are the boats as described in this Q&A, and boat C is a boat that has started correctly, was not OCS and finished third.


  1. Isn't this the answer to your question? (B) from the Q&A

    Question 3 Will the finishing time of either boat A or boat B trigger the start of the time limit for boats finishing after the first boat that sailed the course and finished?

    Answer 3 Boat B will trigger the start of the time limit as she has complied with the definition Start and with rule 28.1

    1. In rule 90.3 rule 28.1 is specifically mentioned.
      In this SI it is not........
      So why not boat A?

    2. Well, the SI states "after the first boat sails the course and finishes."

      "sailing the course" is not in the definitions per se, but it is the title in all caps of Rule 28, which I think is equivalent. That is to say, with regards to the SI, if boat A does not comply with rule "28 SAILING THE COURSE," boat A is not the first boat that "sails the course and finishes."

    3. Next issue: How does the finish committee KNOW if a boat has sailed the course (correctly)?
      For example, we have multi class events with over 300 boats where the finish is (separately) done by the finish-tower, not by people on the starting vessel.....

  2. I don't think that such level of certainty can be attained... I would imagine that the finish committee may be informed by an on-the-water umpire if a boat does NOT sail the course correctly. But otherwise, the finish committee should note the time of all boats finishing; if the first boat is disqualified for not sailing the course correctly, then the RC can adjust the time limit accordingly. I guess.

  3. Jos:
    Is there a conflict between Answer 3 and Answer 5, isn't there?
    Sen Yamaoka

    1. Hello Sen,
      Can you please explain what you mean. I'm not seeing it.

  4. Jos;
    Sorry for my poor English.
    Q&A2012-001 says "Boat B will trigger the start of the time limit as she has complied with the definition start and WITH RULE 28.1 in Answer 3".

    You say "How does the finish committee KNOW if a boat has sailed the course (correctly)?".
    Do you think which boat trigger the start of the time limit, Boat A or Boat B?
    Please let me know your answer?
    Sen Yamaoka

    1. No problem, Sen.
      I asked this question because in my opinion the finish committee in a lot of regatta's don't know if a boat has or has not sailed the course correctly. Perhaps they have information about OCS or BFD, but even then it is prudent to record all boats as finished, because later in the protest room things can change. If there's a 20 minute finish-window in regatta's I lead, I tell my finish people to note the time of at least the first five boats and unless they are sure everybody is in, keep recording boats past the the finish window time for at least 5 minutes.
      That way we can sort out scoring, with all available information from the starting vessel, from the PC and from the finish. Only then can we make sure we have the correct boat.
      Ooh, and the answer to my question: Boat B, as Latindane already commented.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...