This weekend I was umpiring a GR3 match race in Sicily and a situation happened, where I had a different call than the other umpire. Later he had no way to discuss it since he had to leave early...
I'd be really glad if I could sort this out, with your help or help of your readers, if you don't mind.
I'm attaching the situation:
Timeframe: two minutes to starting signal
Situation: chase around the starting boat
Conditions: 10-12kn wind, no waves
- step 1: boats enters two-length zone clear, so Blue has no right of room as inside boat;
- step 2 & 3: clear astern boat keeps clear, does not try to go inside;
- step 5: Yellow boat tacks inside two-length zone;
- step 6: Blue boat tacks inside two-length zone;
- step 7: boats are overlapped, Yellow starts closing the gap;
- step 8 & 9: Yellow closes in, Blue does not respond, there is no contact, Yellow luffs and protests
- step 1: rule 18.2(c) applies, since boats are not overlapped and are not approaching to start
- step 2-4: nothing special happens, Blue is keeping clear
- step 5: Yellow tacks inside 2LZ, 18.3 should apply, but C2.6 says: "If two boats were on opposite tacks and one of them completes a tack within the two-length zone to pass a rounding mark, and ..." Starting boat is not a rounding mark, therefore we go back to basic rule, 18.2(a)
- step 7, 8 & 9: Blue boat is inside overlapped boat, so Yellow should keep clear
Decision: penalty to yellow
What is your opinion?
I agree with the penalty, but not with the reasoning. Can you find out why?