Sunday, 20 January 2008


The third Umpire Call for you today, is derived from a America's Cup incident:
As before, click on the picture to see the animated sequence.

What is your decision?

Static image: UMP_LTW003s.gif
Answers after the break
Umpire Calls Directory


Tactical Sailing Situations diagram: UMP_LTW003.tss
What the umpires saw:

* Before the start Blue was sailing down wind on port tack.
* Yellow completed a tack onto starboard , reached a collision course at position 3
* Blue did nothing until position 3 and gybed in position 4.
* Yellow had to alter her course in position 4 to avoid a collision.

Rules applicable: Rule 10 and 15
Blue keeps clear and Yellow has to give room, which she does
No rules broken, no penalty; Green/White Flag


  1. Hi Jos,

    I don't know how much time there was between sit 3 and 4 but when is rule 15 no longer applicable and does rule 16.1 kick in?

  2. Two things: First, these are BIG boats, (AC) so it takes time to respond.
    Two; 16.1 does not apply because Yellow is changing course to avoid Blue. The collision is eminent before, not because of a change in course of the r-o-w boat.
    Before the tack Yellow is r-o-w boat, (rule 11), she becomes keep clear boat when she passes head to wind (rule 13), and again becomes r-o-w boat when on a close hauled course.
    At that pos (3), she obliged to give Blue opportunity to respond under rule 15. Blue only has to respond after Yellow becomes r-o-w boat in pos 3 and does so by gybing and luffing to pass in front.
    Yellow luffs to avoid the collision and because she has not given Blue enough room to respond.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...