Monday, 10 March 2008


Today a new Rapid Response Match Racing Call appeared on the ISAF website. The first one for 2008.

It addresses taking a penalty in proximity of a mark. Mark L is not a rounding mark when boats are on a beat to W or when running to the finish. I started thinking about this. When does a mark stop being a rounding mark?

On a beat the first rounding mark is the Windward mark. Once you've passed W then the Leeward mark becomes a rounding mark. But at what moment does W cease to be a rounding mark? If it is as soon as you have passed it - i.e. the mark is behind you - a boat can then take a penalty IN the two boat length zone. Just as it can in this call, in the two boat length zone of L.
What do you think?


  1. The biggest problem about match racing is when the umpires try to make it their game by arguing pedantic points like this.
    The RR call rightly points out that mark L on the first and last legs is for the purposes of C7.3(b)not a rounding mark.
    To me it cannot be a rounding mark as at that time it does not have a required side (rule 28.2) as it dose not start bound or end a leg. After passing it is still a live mark witha required side (28.2)so a penalty cannot be taken within 2 lengths of it.

  2. I'm glad we got that straightened out. I suggest you avoid events where I'm umpiring.


Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...