In the old Rule 18 applied “until both boats have passed the mark”.
This has been removed from the current rule so what is the effect?
Clearly the new rule ends the right to mark room sooner, but how much sooner?
Here then we can say that once the boat entitled to mark room has passed the mark, and therefore is not at it, the right no longer applies. As the old rule was governed by the second boat we have the right to
- It limits a ROW boat that has to give Mark Room and allows a Give way boat “room to sail to the mark and then room to sail her proper course while at the mark.”
- It provides exoneration to (give way and ROW boats) in rule 18.5 but only while a boat a boat is taking the mark room to which she is entitled.
- Sailing excessively slowly to the mark. Mark room relies on the concept of room and in the definition the boat needs to manoeuvre “promptly” if she is sailing too slowly she does not comply and thus loses her right to mark room as she cannot be exonerated under 18.5.
- The tactical rounding. If a give way boat she has rights if she sails to the mark, again is she takes additional space she cannot be exonerated under 18.5 and has lost her right to mark room.
- An example of the thinking here has just been published as Rapid Response Team Racing Call 2009/006. A boat no longer has an obligation under rule 18.2(b) to give mark room if inside and overlapped and sails past where she could have tacked at the mark.